Our library card and loan policies conform to those of the Ocean State Libraries (OSL) consortium, available here. OSL is a statewide network dedicated to serving the Rhode Island community by sharing materials, services, and electronic resources. Rhode Island residents with a valid (not expired) OSL library card can borrow books, DVDs, and many other items from any public library in the state and can place holds to have items from other locations delivered to their hometown library. They also have access to the ezone, which allows cardholders to borrow e-books, e-audio books, and streaming video, which they can access on their computer or mobile device.
Books and audio books may be borrowed for 3 weeks, DVDs for 1 week. Items without holds for other patrons will automatically be renewed twice for the same period.
Overdue fines follow OSL general policy:
- The fine for books, magazines, and audio books is $0.10 (ten cents) per day per item, to a maximum of $6.00 (six dollars) per item.
- The fine for DVDs is $1.00 (one dollar) per day, per DVD, to a maximum of $10.00 per item.
- Any cardholder with $10.00 or more in overdue fines, or overdue materials at any OSL library, may not borrow additional materials until they are returned.
Visitors from out-of-state or abroad are welcome to use the library's resources on-site. To gain full access, they can be issued a Non-Resident card, for an annual fee. As of February 2018, that fee is $150. Visitors must apply for this card in person. More details are available at http://oslri.org.
Rhode Island library users are able to borrow materials from non-OSL Rhode Island libraries and out of state libraries using the Interlibrary Loan service. The Interlibrary Loan service (ILL) is governed by the Library of Rhode Island (LORI) standards. You can request materials through ILL at the Pascoag Public Library by contacting a library staff member. There is no guarantee that the materials requested will be available from another institution. There is no charge for placing an ILL request, but the patron is required to pay one-way shipping costs and is subject to normal fines and fees for overdue and lost materials. The library reserves the right to refuse to borrow materials from another library for any patron owing ten dollars ($10.00) or more in fines and/or with checked out items that are more than 2 weeks overdue.
The Pascoag Public Library participates in complete resource sharing of all circulating materials with the exception of those materials classified as equipment and those materials classified as special loan.
Not accepting donations at this time. Please do not leave items outside due to the possibility of weather damage. (Oct. 12, 2020)